Austin DWI Defense Attorney – Why Experience Matters
A DWI conviction is no laughing matter. Even a first conviction can have
dire consequences, not to mention what you could be facing if it is your
second or third offense. Did you know that for any DWI offense your license
will automatically be suspended for 40 days after the day of your arrest
if you don’t request an administrative license revocation (ALR)
hearing within 15 days?
Other possible penalties include a fine up to $2,000, up to 180 days of
jail time or up to two years of probation. You don’t want to face
a DWI charge on your own, which is why you should get in touch with an
DWI defense attorney as soon as possible.
Why Experience Matters
You don’t want your DWI case to be handled by an inexperienced attorney.
Knowledge and experience with DWI cases is of utmost importance for your
defense and can make the difference between being acquitted or convicted.
Carroll Troberman Austin DWI
attorneys have the experience you need to aggressively fight for your case. Attorneys
Meredith “Shelly” Troberman and Blair Carroll have ample experience
with Texas DWI cases and outstanding professional relationships with Travis
County Court judges, prosecutors and staff workers.
Blair and Shelly both know the ins and outs of the system and can help
you navigate it. They will work relentlessly to defend
DWI Frequently Asked Questions:
Getting charged with a DWI is very serious, and they are enforced very
rigorously all throughout Texas. It’s crucial that you get in touch
with a DWI defense lawyer immediately following your charges.
Do I have to take a blood or breath test?
Texas has an implied consent law. This law means that if you are arrested
for a DWI, then you consent to taking either a blood or chemical test
to determine the level of alcohol content that’s in your blood.
If you do refuse the test, then your refusal can be held against you in
court and your license will be suspended for 180 days.
How soon after my charges should I hire a defense attorney?
Ideally, the sooner the better, if you want to keep your license, you’ll
need to put in a request for a hearing within 15 days of your DWI arrest.
So, if you want to attempt to keep your license, you’ll want a DWI
lawyer on your case as soon as possible. If you don’t file a hearing,
then you lose your chance to fight for the ability to keep your license.
Will my license be suspended automatically?
Your license suspension will depend upon the actions you take immediately
following your arrest. If you do not file a hearing within 15 days of
your arrest or if your blood alcohol percentage was above 0.08 percent,
then your license will be suspended.
If my license was suspended, can I still get a temporary license for work?
Once again, this depends on your previous criminal record and driving record,
but in most cases, yes you will usually be able to get an Occupational
Driver’s License which will enable you to drive to and from work.
If this is my first DWI will I receive jail time?
If this is your first alcohol related offense then you will most likely
avoid any jail time. However, this depends on the details of your case.
What are the usual DWI penalties for first time offenders?
The usual first time penalties involve a fine of up to $2,000 and jail
time that is no less than 72 hours and no more than 180 days. However,
if it’s your first offense, sometimes the time spent in jail will
Depending upon the details of your case your license may also be suspended
for a time that is no less than 90 days and no more than 1 year.
What are the DWI penalties for second time offenders?
A second-time DWI offender will see their fine increase to $4,000, as well
as an increase in jail time, with a possible sentence of a minimum of
30 days and a maximum of one year in jail. The license suspension will
also increase to no less than 6 months and no more than 2 years.
What are the DWI penalties for third time offenders?
If you’ve been convicted of a DWI for the third time, then you’ve
just committed a 3rd degree felony. The fine will increase greatly, facing
costs of up to $10,000. The time spent in jail will also increase to no
less than 2 years and no more than ten years. You will also be facing
a possible license suspension of two years.
What are the drunken driving laws in Texas?
The drunken driving laws in Texas are based upon driving with a blood alcohol
level, or BAC, that’s above the legal limit. The enforced legal
limits are below:
● Under the age of 21, a BAC of .02 or more
● Drivers of all ages, a BAC of .08 or more
● Any commercial vehicle drivers, a BAC of .04 or more
Anytime you exceed this limits you run the risk of getting convicted for a DWI.
How many drinks does it take to surpass the legal limit?
The legal limit in Texas is a BAC of .08. This score is determined by a
variety of different factors, including: age, weight, sex, and the time
interval in which you consumed your drinks. There are some basic calculators
and phone apps which purport to calculate your BAC. However, if you are
planning on drinking it’s smarter to abstain from alcohol completely.
Hire an Experienced Austin DWI Attorney Today
There is no time to waste when you are facing a DWI charge. The sooner
you contact an attorney, the higher your chances will be for getting the
charge dismissed or obtaining a reduced sentence. At Carroll Troberman,
PLLC we have the experience and knowledge that is necessary to defend your
rights. Get in contact with us today and schedule a free consultation.