Attorneys Carroll and Troberman have years of experience successfully defending DWI cases.
You deserve experienced and aggressive criminal defense lawyers. You deserve Carroll Troberman.
We have the experience needed to guide you through the jail release process.
Texas has some of the strictest laws in place against underage drinking
in the US. They punish minors (anyone under 21) who attempt to purchase,
purchase, possess, or consume alcoholic beverages. Minors can also be
punished for being intoxicated in public or having a fake ID that misrepresents
Minors charged with violating underage drinking laws (a Class C misdemeanor)
can face the following punishments:
Fine up to $500
Required attendance of alcohol awareness class (Note- if the minor has
a previous underage drinking charge and fails to attend alcohol awareness
class, their driver’s license will be suspended for one year).
Between 8 and 40 hours of community service
Loss of driver’s license between 30 to 180 days
If a minor is 17 years old or older, and they are on their third underage
drinking offense, they can face much more serious consequences, like an
increased fine of up to $2,000, automatic suspension of driver’s
license, and jailtime for up to 180 days.
Texas passed a Zero Tolerance Law in 2009 that states it is illegal for
anyone under 21 to operate a vehicle while under the influence of any
amount alcohol, not just over 0.08.
If you’re over 21, you can still be charged just as easily for providing
alcohol to a minor. In fact, even other minors can be charged with this.
These laws tend to hand out even stricter punishments, as the charge is
qualified as a Class A misdemeanor. Additional penalties include:
Fine up to $4,000
Jailtime of up to one year
Automatic suspension of driver’s license for 180 days
Can be held liable for any damages done by the minor on the property owned
or leased by the adult.
If you or someone you love has been charged with an alcohol-related offense,
contact Austin DWI Lawyers at
Carroll Troberman, PLLC.