DWI School: What to Expect

If you’ve been charged with a DWI, there are many consequences you could face, from jail time, to heavy fines, to a suspended drivers license. One consequence that everyone charged with a DWI in the state of Texas must face is attending an educational program that informs attendees of things like Texas laws about DWIs, how alcohol and drugs affect the human body and driving skills, and dependency on alcohol and drugs.

  • Sometimes you can attend DWI school before your trial, and in certain cases offenders can attend DWI school in order to get their drivers license back. Most often, enrolling in DWI school will reduce other consequences, like the length of a jail sentence.

  • The course costs range from $50 to $90 and consist of multiple sessions that can last a couple of hours each. The class times are usually in the evenings or on weekends to accommodate work schedules. A first-time offender won’t have to attend DWI school for as long as a repeat offender, and it also depends on the severity of the offense.

  • Typical classes will talk about DWI laws in Texas and the effects of alcohol on the driver. Some DWI school will take classes on field trips to a hospital, morgue or other applicable location to witness the potential effects of driving drunk.

  • After you finish the course, you will be presented with a certificate with a number issued by the State of Texas. In some cases, a copy will be sent to the Texas Department of Public Safety, but in other cases you’ll have to send it yourself. It may be up to you to get it where it needs to go, so make sure you are aware of the follow-through procedures necessary.

Carroll Troberman, PLLC is home to your Austin DWI attorney. Contact us today for a free consultation.

Contact Us Today

How May We Help You?

Send My Info

Why Choose Us?

  • Exclusively Practices Criminal Law
  • Serving The Austin Are For Over A Decade
  • Successfully Defended Thousands Of Criminal Cases
  • Experienced as a Former Prosecutor